Latest News

Local News

Early voting popular in Townsville by-election


Voters in Townsville's Division 10 by-election are making the most of being able to cast their ballots early as polling day draws closer.

Six-hundred people have already had their say on who represents them, just three days after early voting opened.

Around 1,600 of the 12,500 residents in Division 10 are opting to vote via post.

Queensland's electoral commissioner Pat Vidgen says postal votes must be completed before 6pm on election day.

“Early voting is a growing trend in elections and even in regional by-elections, voters are choosing an option that best suits their needs," Mr Vidgen says.

“The ECQ will undertake a preliminary count of all available early, postal, telephone and election day votes on election night, with the official count beginning on the following day, Sunday."

For more information visit, and make sure you’re correctly enrolled at

Five candidates have put their hand up to replace longstanding councillor Les Walker, with the by-election for the hotly-contested seat on January 23.

Mr Walker was elected to state parliament.

The candidates include Scott McElligott, Carolyn Dare, Joel Allan Thomas, Harry Patel and Fran O'Callaghan.